Tutorial: Automatically delete private data on exiting Cliqz for Android

In order for the automatic deletion to work, the browser must be terminated properly. We explain how to do it.


Björn GreifEditor

With Cliqz for Android, it’s possible to automatically have all tabs closed and all private data such as cache, cookies and history deleted from your device on exiting the browser. For this to work, it’s necessary to close the app properly. This tutorial explains how to proceed correctly.

  1. Open the menu in Cliqz Browser by tapping the three dots in the upper right corner.
  2. Select “Settings”.
Open settings
  1. Tap “Privacy”.
Open privacy menu
  1. Scroll down to the bottom and tap “Clear private data on exit“. On the next screen, check “Open Tabs“, “History“,”Cookies” and “Cache“. Confirm by tapping “Set“.
Select privacy options

It’s important that you quit the Cliqz app completely after you’re done browsing. However, this doesn’t work as generally assumed by simply swiping away the app in the Android app overview. This closes the app and stops its last activity, but keeps some background processes of the app running. Therefore, when you close Cliqz by swiping to the side, the private data will not be deleted automatically, even if you have checked the corresponding checkboxes in the privacy settings.

To allow Cliqz Browser to automatically clear private data on exit as desired, you have to close it via the menu. That’s how it works:

  1. Open the triple-dot menu in Cliqz Browser.
  2. Tap „Exit“. Done!
Exit Cliqz

The next time you start Cliqz Browser, all data for the selected options in the privacy settings should be gone.