With key technologies such as browsers and an independent search engine, we are building the foundation for a sovereign digital future of Europe.

Secure Europe’s Digital Future Now!

We Europeans have watched for too long how US companies are capturing more and more key technologies and users. How they are forming monopolies. How they are already sealing off the markets of the future today. How they disregard our rules and values and impose theirs on us. How they make vast profits from the exploitation of our data and thus fill their war chest for further campaigns of conquest.

If We Don’t Act Now, We Will Become a Digital Colony

We Europeans must finally act and build our own independent digital infrastructure. Let’s secure access to strategic lines of communication and the most important resource: data. Let’s secure our share of the added value in the global digital economy that Europe is entitled to. Let’s secure our future!

With our independent search engine, we at Cliqz contribute to the defense of Europe’s digital sovereignty.

We Redesign The Internet

We view the internet from the user’s perspective and then re-invent it.

Admittedly, this is a very ambitious goal for a small startup like Cliqz. With Cliqz for Firefox, however, we’ve already shown that fundamentally new approaches like “searching inside the browser” and “personalisation without personal data” are possible. With just two years of development work, we’ve removed the barrier separating browsers and search engines which has been in place for two decades. By doing this we have created an entirely new and universal user interface for the Internet. What is more, our new technology for greater security on the web is about to be introduced.

We’re breaking new grounds when it comes to developing our business model. Bringing together targeting and privacy, we are currently testing a technology which allows companies and brands to show you relevant offers directly in the browser.

Jean-Paul

Jean-Paul Schmetz Founder and CEO Cliqz GmbH

"At Cliqz, software and web developers, designers, user experience specialists, data scientists, and infrastructure experts are working on a fundamentally new way of using the web. Unlike the established players, we don't rely on the "advertising on search engine pages" business model. This gives us the freedom we need to create an entirely new user interface for Internet navigation."

Marc

Dr.-Ing. Marc Al-HamesCEO Cliqz GmbH

"When developing the Cliqz browsers, the search engine, and features such as anti-tracking, we always think of the users first – and not the advertising industry or anyone else. Focusing unconditionally on the user experience is the only way to ensure that alternative concepts can compete against the large companies that dominate the market."

About Cliqz

Based on the principles of privacy, fairness and openness, Cliqz develops digital key technologies as a European alternative to the market dominating US platforms. These include independent search engine, browser and privacy technologies as well as new techniques for responsible advertising and statistical data collection for the benefit of all users.

The Cliqz GmbH was founded in 2008 by Jean-Paul Schmetz and is based in Munich. Since May 2013, the Cliqz GmbH has been a majority holding of Hubert Burda Media. In February 2017, Cliqz acquired Ghostery, the world’s leading provider of anti-tracking tools.

In June 2014, the concept “quick search directly in the browser” was launched for the first time, initially as an extension for the Firefox browser. Cliqz has been available as an independent browser since the end of 2015. The version 1.0 of Cliqz for Windows and Mac with integrated anti-tracking was released in March 2016. In addition, the Cliqz browser with built-in quick search engine is also available for Android and iOS. Cliqz is one of the few European search engine providers with an independent web index. Cliqz is currently developing an independent search engine that will be able to be used with any browser.

Press Contact: press@cliqz.com

Wir glauben an ein Internet, in dem die Interessen der User wirklich an erster Stelle stehen. Dieses Internet braucht radikal neues Denken. Und ein komplettes Redesign.

Immer zuerst an die Nutzer denken. Das unterscheidet uns von den Konzernen, die das Internet heute beherrschen. Sie gestalten das Web nach ihren Interessen und den Interessen der Werbeindustrie.

Wir haben eine ganz andere Vision vom Internet. Wir glauben an ein Internet, in dem Werte wie Transparenz, Privatsphäre, Offenheit, Sicherheit und Respekt zählen. Ein Internet, in dem persönliche Daten im Besitz der User bleiben und in dem sie auf dem kürzesten Weg zum Ziel kommen – auch wenn das weniger Werbemöglichkeiten bedeutet.

Wir glauben an ein Internet, in dem die Interessen der User wirklich an erster Stelle stehen. Dieses Internet braucht radikal neues Denken. Und ein komplettes Redesign.

Wir erfinden das Internet neu

Wir betrachten das Internet aus der Perspektive des Nutzers.We redesign the Internet.Klar: ein mehr als ehrgeiziges Ziel für ein kleines Startup wie Cliqz. Mit Cliqz for Firefox haben wir allerdings bereits bewiesen, dass grundlegend neue Ansätze wie „Suchen direkt im Browser“ und „Personalisierung ohne persönliche Daten“ möglich sind. Wir haben in nur zwei Jahren Entwicklungsarbeit die zwei Jahrzehnte währende Trennung von Browser und Suchmaschine aufgehoben und eine völlig neue, universale Benutzeroberfläche für das Internet gestaltet. Zudem steht unsere neue Technologie, für mehr Sicherheit im Web, kurz vor der Einführung.Und nicht zuletzt gehen wir auch bei der Entwicklung unserer Geschäftsmodelle neue Wege, indem wir erstmals Targeting mit konsequentem Datenschutz in Einklang bringen. Wir testen derzeit eine neuartige Technologie, die dir direkt im Browser relevante Angebote anzeigt.

Jean-Paul Schmetz Gründer und Geschäftsführer Cliqz GmbH

"Bei Cliqz arbeiten Software- und Web-Entwickler, Designer, User Experience-Spezialisten, Datenwissenschaftler und Infrastruktur-Experten an einer grundlegend neuen Art, das Web zu nutzen. Anders als etablierte Player sind wir nicht auf das Geschäftsmodell ‚Werbung auf Suchmaschinenseiten’ angewiesen. Das gibt uns die Freiheit, die Benutzerschnittstelle für die Navigation im Internet völlig neu zu gestalten."

Dr.-Ing. Marc Al-HamesGeschäftsführer Cliqz GmbH

"Wir denken bei der Entwicklung der Cliqz Browser, der Suchmaschine und bei Funktionen wie Anti-Tracking immer zuerst an den User und nicht an die Werbeindustrie oder irgendjemanden sonst. Nur durch kompromisslose Fokussierung auf die Benutzererfahrung haben alternative Konzepte im Wettbewerb mit marktbeherrschenden Konzernen eine Chance."

Dr. Jost SchwanerGeschäftsführer Cliqz GmbH

"Heute beherrschen einige wenige Unternehmen das Internet. Zu lange schon müssen wir als private Nutzer zusehen, wie internationale Konzerne unsere Privatsphäre ausschnüffeln und damit Geld verdienen. Cliqz definiert die Standards neu. Um wirklich etwas zu verändern, brauchen wir dich. Mach mit bei unserer Bewegung für ein menschliches Internet!"

Über Cliqz

Cliqz ist angetreten, Browser und Suche zusammenzuführen und so die Benutzeroberfläche des Internet neu zu gestalten. Über 100 Experten aus ca. 30 Ländern entwickeln in München innovative Software mit dem Ziel, die Nutzer so direkt wie möglich zum Ziel zu bringen und dabei ihre Privatsphäre zu wahren. Die Cliqz GmbH wurde 2008 von Jean-Paul Schmetz gegründet. Seit Mai 2013 ist die Cliqz GmbH eine Mehrheitsbeteiligung von Hubert Burda Media. Im August 2016 erwarb Mozilla eine strategische Minderheitsbeteiligung an Cliqz. Im Februar 2017 übernahm Cliqz den weltweit führenden Anbieter von Anti-Tracking-Tools Ghostery.

Im Juni 2014 ging das Konzept „Schnellsuche direkt im Browser“ erstmals an den Start, zunächst als Erweiterung für den Firefox-Browser. Seit Ende 2015 gibt es Cliqz als eigenständige Browser. Die Version 1.0 von Cliqz für Windows und Mac mit integriertem Anti-Tracking wurde im März 2016 veröffentlicht. Darüber hinaus gibt es den Cliqz Browser mit eingebauter Schnell-Suchmaschine auch für Android und iOS. Im Juni 2016 veröffentlichte Cliqz den Softwarecode seiner Browser-Versionen und der Firefox-Erweiterung – Open Source für maximale Transparenz.

Pressekontakt: press@cliqz.com